Emergency Shelter Network

New Yorkers Coming Together To Help Those In Need For More Than 30 Years

The Emergency Shelter Network of Faith-Based and Community Organizations, Inc. (ESN-NYC) is a non-profit devoted to aiding, supporting and representing its members: a coalition of shelters, operated primarily by volunteers, serving homeless adult individuals throughout the five boroughs of New York City.

We are proud members of the Human Services Council and the Homeless Services United.


PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that the 2017 Annual Meeting for all Members of the Emergency Shelter Network of Faith-Based and Community Organizations, Inc. (the “Corporation”) will be held on Wednesday; January 18, 2017 at 6:00 p.m. at the Fifth Avenue Presbyterian Church (Jones Auditorium), at 7 West 55th Street in the Borough of Manhattan.


We will conduct ESN corporate business from 6pm to 7pm. After a break where light refreshments will be served, we will hear from distinguished speakers, including Catherine Trapani, Executive Director of Homeless Services United, a nonprofit that represents the vast majority of private shelter capacity in New York City.


The meeting is called for the following purposes:

  1. Review of the current and projected activities of the Corporation.
  2. Election of the Board of Directors for the ensuing year or their classified terms.
  3. Discussion of other business relevant to the Members.

There are presently four (4) Members who have agreed to be candidates for four of the five (5) available positions on the next Board, as noted below.


Please note that according to the By-laws of the Corporation (Article III, Section 1), the members of the Board of Directors elected at this Annual Meeting shall serve for a term duration of one year.


As a result, the slate of candidates for the Board of Directors is proposed to be classified as follows:

           Mark Roshkind                                             One Year

           Ryan Adams                                                 One Year

           Bart McAllister                                              One Year

           Katy Homans                                               One Year

           Vacancies (1)                                               One Year


Members interested in serving on the next Board of Directors are requested to advise Mr. Mark Roshkind, by e-mail at mroshki@yahoo.com no later than January 13, 2017.


In the event that you will not be able to attend the Annual Meeting, please complete and submit one of the below proxy forms (at the end of this email), which will authorize either (1) the existing Board of Directors or (2) another individual to act on your behalf on any matters that come before the meeting, including casting votes for the next Board.  If you are unable to attend, we encourage you to send in your proxy since, the availability of your proxy, together with the actual Member attendance, will ensure the presence of the required minimum of votes for a quorum.  The Proxy may be withdrawn, in writing, any time before the meeting.


The proxy in favor of the Board of Directors should be delivered to Mr. Mark Roshkind as soon as possible, but in any event, no later than the afternoon of Friday; January 13, 2017 to permit its inclusion as part of the required quorum.  It may be sent by e-mail in “pdf” form or by regular mail.  If by e-mail, it should be sent to mroshki@yahoo.com.  If by regular mail, as follows:

                        Mark Roshkind

                      302 East 88th Street

                      New York, N.Y. 10128


A proxy in favor of another person who is planning to attend the Annual Meeting should be delivered to the officer as indicated above or by the person holding the proxy at the Annual Meeting.


Thank you for your attention to this important matter.  We look forward to seeing you at the Annual Meeting.


E.S.N. Board of Directors

Scott Ramsdell               President

Bart McAllister                Vice-President

Mark Roshkind               Secretary/Treasurer

Joe Murphy                    Director

Wiloma Stuart                Director














Annual Meeting of Members

Wednesday; January 18, 2017, 6:30 PM

The undersigned Member designated by of the indicated faith-based or community organization hereby appoint(s) Mr. Mark Roshkind, Treasurer, as the true and lawful attorney and proxy, with full power of substitution, to vote the membership interest which he or she is entitled to vote at the January 18, 2017 Annual Meeting, or any adjournment thereof, including voting for up to five (5) members of the Board of Directors for their classified term, as indicated below, and, in the Board of Directors’ discretion, any other matters that may come before the meeting.


CANDIDATE                         X                     TERM

Mark Roshkind                                              One Year

Ryan Adams                                                   One Year

Bart McAllister                                             One Year

Katy Homans                                                 One Year

Vacancies (1)             ____________               One Year   



Vote for up to FIVE (5) candidates by an “X” where indicated.


Signature of Member:                                            

Print Name:                                                     


Organization:  ________________________